Minutes of the meeting of the Rock County Soil and Water Conservation District Tuesday, January 18, 2022

A meeting of the Rock County Soil and Water District Board was held Tuesday, January 18, 2022 at 8:00 AM at the Prairie Service Center with the following members present: Roger Hoff, Gene Cragoe, Dave Esselink, Jim Veldkamp, County Commissioner Stan Williamson, Director Eric Hartman, Assistant Director Doug Bos, Office Manager Mary Thompson. Absent: Josh Ossefoort

Chair Hoff called the meeting to order and asked for any additions to the agenda. With no additions, motion to approve by Cragoe, second by Veldkamp. All ayes, no opposes, motion carried.

Introduction of New Employee

Hartman introduced Lee Tapper, new engineer technician who started January 3.

Election of Officers and Committee Appointments

Chair – (currently Roger Hoff) Vice-Chair – (currently Josh Ossefoort) Secretary – (currently Dave Esselink) Treasurer – (currently Gene Cragoe) Motion by Veldkamp to for all officers to remain the same, second by Cragoe. All ayes, no opposes, motion carried.

TSA – (currently Roger Hoff)
KLR – (currently Dave Esselink)
Waterplan Committee - (currently Dave Esselink; alternate Josh Ossefoort)
PR & I – (currently Jim Veldkamp)
Motion by Veldkamp to for all committee members to remain the same, second by Cragoe. All ayes, no opposes, motion carried.

Official Depository

The board approved Security Savings Bank as the official depository for 2022. Motion by Veldkamp, second by Cragoe. All ayes, no opposes, motion carried.

Official Newspaper

The board approved the Rock County Star Herald as the official newspaper for 2022. Motion by Cragoe, second by Veldkamp. All ayes, no opposes, motion carried.

NRCS Update

NRCS staff unable to attend. Updates provided: EQIP funding recipients will be notified around March 10 and CSP assessments deadline for applications if February 4.

SW Prairie TSA Year End Report

Bos presented the year end TSA report which demonstrates TSA staff time distribution per county and per practice. A map of all project locations is included as well. The SWPTSA serves 11 counties in SW Minnesota.

Flood 4

Thompson shared the final financial spreadsheets for Flood Relief 4. All funds have been spent and grant expired as of 12/31/2021. Four grassed waterways and nine water and sediment control basins were installed using these funds. Thompson will be completing the final reporting to BWSR.

Buffer Cost Share

Thompson presented the final financial spreadsheets for Buffer Cost Share. This money was awarded after the Buffer Law was in place to assist landowners in conservation projects if that project would bring a parcel needing a buffer into compliance. Many landowners were already in compliance when this was awarded. Four waterways and eighteen basins were constructed using these funds. \$100,650.34 remains to be returned to the state. Motion to approve return funds by Esselink, second by Cragoe. All ayes, no opposes, motion carried.

Bills for Approval:

Thompson presented the bills for approval. Motion to approve by Veldkamp, second by Esselink. All ayes, no opposes, motion carried.

A/P Date	Vendor Number	Vendor Name	Total Amount
01/18/2022	999999000	COWELL CONSTRUCTION, LLC	\$1,600.00
01/18/2022	393	MACDE	\$175.00
01/18/2022	392	MN ASSOC OF SOIL & WATER CONSERV DIST	\$4,203.90
01/18/2022	3445	MN COUNTIES INTERGOVERNMENTAL TRUST	\$2,401.00
01/18/2022	928	MOTOR VEHICLE DIVISION	\$41.25
01/18/2022	20015	TOLLEFSON PUBLISHING	\$210.00
01/18/2022		SECURITY SAVINGS	\$157.50

Financial Statements

Hartman presented the December financial statements. Motion to approve by Cragoe, second by Esselink. All ayes, no opposes, motion carried.

SWCD 75th Recognition – February Area V Meeting

Hartman informed the board that BWSR would like to recognize Rock SWCD for our 75th Anniversary at the Area V Meeting in Marshall on February 17. Doug Goodrich has requested staff and supervisors, who are able, to attend.

Minutes

December 2, 2021 minutes were reviewed. Motion to approve by Esselink, second by Veldkamp. All ayes, no oppose, motion carried. December 20, 2021 minutes were tabled. Approval required by two board members present at the 12/21 meeting. Only one present at the 1/18 meeting.

Upcoming Meeting

Tuesday, February 22, 2022

Motion to adjourn by Cragoe, second by Esselink. All ayes, no opposes, motion carried.

Respectfully submitted,

Mary Thompson Office Manager